I’ve been wondering, wondering about this thing called wisdom, and how and where it fits in to my life and how much it influences the decisions I make everyday. I remember (once again) to when I gave my life to God and a few other instances, when I felt compelled to go do something, something that I look back now at, and I think, what on earth was I think, I remember about three months after I got saved, printing out about 50 little business card type efforts that said “God loves you” and it had John 3:16 on it. And going to drop off a these business cards off in peoples post boxes. Hmmm ya post boxes, me and post boxes……

I’ve done stuff for God that pushed me so far out of my comfort zone, spoken to randoms on the street about God, and it sounds cool and all, sounds very “Jesus Like” and I think at the time I didn’t even really think about what I did. I just did it, then I learn’t about this thing called wisdom… hmmm now wisdom is a gift of God, it says so in the word, and wisdom has changed me in many ways, I tend to think long and hard about the things I’m going to do, the ministries God wants me in, and don’t get me wrong, wisdom is a very very important aspect of life. But sometimes, sometimes I just wonder, I wonder if too much wisdom can tame passion, tame God, maybe that’s earthly wisdom. I don’t know, all I know is that sometimes we dwell so much on the fact of, whether something is wise or not that we miss God’s passing opportunities.

And I type this message, wondering if it wise to speak about wisdom in such a way, because wisdom is often a thing that people, including myself, like, because it can be so comforting.

Wisdom is safe, wisdom is calm, wisdom is boring? Boring? Agree with me? Don’t? Maybe it wasn’t wise to make that statement…

I know a God that is passionate about his people, I know God that loves the raw passion of his followers, I also know a God that isn’t always safe, that pushes you, that asks you to do stuff that is uncomfortable. But on the swing side, I also know God is wisdom.

Do you think its wise to believe in God? And I don’t mean tick the Christian block everytime there’s a census, I’m talking about Jesus’ definition of believing in God.

“For whoever would save his life will lose it,

but whoever loses his life for my sake and the gospel’s will save it.” Mark 8:35

I’ll be honest here; this verse makes me squirm, makes me think, and make me bleak with Jesus. My flesh tells me Jesus was tripping on drugs when he said this. Give up my life, give it up? Um sorry God? Did I hear you right? YOU WANT ME TO GIVE UP MY LIFE??

And I think I wrestle with this verse every day of my life, to die to self, to give it up, my wisdom tells me, Gus, your stupid, giving up your life means that you gotta give up stuff that you really don’t want to give up, giving up your life means that you going to be put in places where you sweat for Jesus, where you feel uncomfortable, all the wisdom inside of me says that sometimes following God is very unwise.

But then I think I look at this from earthly wisdom, and from a 1 dimensional perspective… My mind fails to realize the fact the God holds the universe in place, every star, every planet, every comet… and he does it by second nature, its not something he has to think hard about, he just does it. And I ask myself, so I can trust my mate, when he’s driving a car, but I cant trust the creator of the universe to look after me. When you look at it from that perspective, everything else seems silly.

So back to wisdom, is it wise to follow God? Is it? The wisdom you hold onto and trust, is that your wisdom? Or God’s? The Bible says

“Trust in the LORD with all your heart,

and do not lean on your own understanding.”

You see the world says its not wise to trust in something you cannot see, in fact the world says you should trust at all… where you getting your trust from?

Much love

Gus

