So I have been on my floor, seeking God, seeking his face again. Feeling like I have forgotten what He looks like. While I was lying there, feeling like there was this massive wall that I had built up between my king and me, a wall built with the bricks of my failure, disappointment, frustration and anger. I feel God has reminded me of a story.

The story goes like this: there was once a man who went swimming off a dangerous piece of coastline where massive waves often came rolling in. He always thought he would be safe, that his own strength would get him passed any big waves that headed his way, the thrill of the waves kept him coming back for more.

One day there was a massive wave that hit the coastline and this man got into trouble, he was swept out to sea. Struggling to stay above the surface the man saw a boat passing by, he waved frantically, clinging to the hope that this boat would save him. Luckily through the mist and rough seas the boat managed to see him and save him.

Realising that many people would probably venture to the dangerous bit of coastline he decided to set up a lifeguard hut and watch for people who might need to be saved. He was right, this lifeguard station became world famous for its rescues, thousands of people were saved because of the lifeguard station. The more famous it got, the more and more equipped it got, and the more people joined the lifeguard station to help out.

As the years went on the station developed more and more, but people had started to enjoy the station and it became more and more about the people that were part of the lifeguard station, than the people that it was supposed to save. Until one day the man who started this lifeguard station went out for a swim, he was hit by huge wave, and as he was pulled out to sea, he waved frantically to the lifeguard station hoping that someone would see him, and come save him.

But no one ever did, everyone was too worried about the lifeguard station and the people inside it. The man was lost forever because the lifeguard station had lost its purpose, and lost its focus. Sometimes I forget that GOD pulled me out of the clay, sometimes I forget that it was GOD who found me, in the ditch where all my fears and failures had my heart. It was HIM! It was he who loved us first, he is our first love!

 

Jesus, Lover of my soul,

Jesus, I will never let you go

You’ve taken me from the miry clay

You’ve set my feet upon the Rock, and now I know

I love you, I need you,

Though my world may fall, I’ll never let you go

My Saviour, my closest friend,

I will worship you until the very end

 

May you remember that it was HIM who took you out the miry clay!

Have an incredible weekend.

Love you guys

Gus

